Spring Meeting of the European Materials Research Society (E-MRS)

The European Materials Research Society conference, the E-MRS Spring Meeting, takes place online from May 31 to June 3. The virtual meeting offers high quality scientific program that addresses different topics organized into 19 symposia arranged in 4 clusters covering the fields of energy materials, nanomaterials and advanced characterization, biomaterials and soft materials, as well as materials for electronics, magnetics and photonics.

This year’s event consists of parallel symposia with invited speakers, oral and poster presentations, assorted by plenary sessions and a number of workshops and training courses. As a new item for posters, short oral presentation gives each attendee the opportunity to highlight the major results.

In parallel with the technical sessions, international exhibitors have the opportunity to promote their equipment, systems, products, software, publications and services during the meeting.

The focal Point of the Conference are the plenary sessions each consisting of high level presentation given by Prof. Ben Feringa from the University of Groningen, The Netherlands - Nobel Laureate in Chemistry (2016); Prof. André Geim from the University of Manchester, U.K. - Nobel Laureate in Physics (2010) and Prof. Ulrike Diebold from TU Vienna (Austria).

The following invited speakers will represent the ISSP UL at the event:

  • habil.phys. Eugene Kotomin, First-principles calculations of defects in CsPbX3 (X = Br, I) crystals
  • phys. Vladimir Pankratov, Luminescence and VUV excitation spectroscopy of nanophosphors under synchrotron radiation
  • rer.nat. Denis Gryaznov, First principles calculations of defect formation energies and oxide crystalsand


The E-MRS Spring Meeting is widely recognized as being of the highest international significance and is the major of its kind in Europe with about 2500 attendees every year.
Founded in 1983, the European Materials Research Society (E-MRS) now has more than 4,000 members from industry, government, academia and research laboratories, who meet regularly to debate recent technological developments of functional materials.


Read more